The Faculty of Physics, Astronomy and Informatics is one of the 16 faculties of Nicolaus Copernicus University in Toruń, Poland. It was established on September 1, 1993, when the former Faculty of Mathematics, Physics and Chemistry was divided. Its structure includes:

Centre for Astronomy is located in Piwnice, 15 km north of Torun. The faculty of Physics and the Department of Informatics are located in the Aleksander Jabłoński Institute at no. 5/7 Grudziądzka Street. The building houses the Dean’s Office, the faculty library, and Poland’s most modern National Laboratory for Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics.

The Faculty of Physics employs 200 people, including 60 full professors and associate professors (holders of a post-doctoral degree) and 66 academics with an M.Sc. or PhD degrees.

The Institute of Physics Research Council has the right to confer doctoral and post-doctoral degrees in physical sciences and the Faculty Council has the right to confer physical science doctoral and post-doctoral degrees in astronomy.

The address is: ul. Grudziądzka 5, 87-100 Toruń, Poland
Tel: +4856 611 3249 (Dean’s Office), +4856  611 3310 (switchboard), fax: +4856 622 5397