The Institute

University Physics in Toruń originated when Nicolaus Copernicus University was established in 1945. Its founder, who organized research and teaching here, was Aleksander Jabłoński who arrived with a group of Stefan Batory University scholars displaced from Wilno (today’s Vilnius, Lithuania). His research interests shaped research in his department: atom and molecule spectroscopy. Further on, the scope of research has become broader, but all research here is more or less related to atomic-molecular physics, optics and spectroscopy. For years researchers here have been involved in modern branches of physics and related disciplines, like optoelectronics, photonics or bioinformatics.

Instytut Aleksandra Jabłońskiego

In 1968 institutes were introduced into the NCU organizational structure and so was the Institute of Physics. First, it belonged to the Faculty of Mathematics, Physics and Chemistry and, when it was divided further in 1993, to the Faculty of Physics, Astronomy and Informatics. Today it is composed of nine research units and several teaching labs. (The Institute structure is shown in the menu on the left). The Institute employs 148 people, including 94 research and teaching faculty members.

The Institute of Physics Research Council has the right to confer doctoral and post-doctoral degrees in physical sciences and to initiate the process leading to the granting of the title of full professor. The Institute belongs to the top category of Polish research institutions doing physical research.

The site of the institute is a building at no. 5 Grudziądzka, right in the center of Toruń, which has been called Aleksander Jabłoński Institute since 1991.


Address: ul. Grudziądzka 5, 87-100 Toruń
Phone: +48 56 611 3229 (Secretary’s office), +48 56 611 3310 (switchboard), fax: +48 56 622 5397, e-mail: